Italian Tipsy Pudding

I made two technical errors when attempting this dish. The first was in beating the batter for the cake. The recipe called for an electric hand mixer but lacking this, I tried a blender. What I found out later on in that a blender doesn’t aerate the batter which meant that the cake didn’t rise and I ended up having to do it twice in order to have three layers of cake, all of which were a little too dense. Not the biggest problem but I should have just did it by hand to get the right effect. I’ll have to buy a hand mixer! The second error was in cooking the custard. I was supposed to cook the custard until thick (but what is thick exactly?) So my vanilla custard didn’t set. Luckily, while melting down my chocolate for the second half of the custard it actually was able to cook enough and set perfectly (ah that thick!) Doing recipes for the first time can be tricky because you don’t have much to go on as to whether you are over or under cooking things. The result was still pretty tasty although the dessert looked and tasted incredibly dated. Something you would find in an old 50s diner right beside the rice pudding! Not bad but I’ll be moving on to bigger and better things in the future. And at least it was a learning experience.

image (2) image (3) image (4) image (5) image (6) image (7) image (8)

Leave a Reply

