La Terrine de Ris de Veau (Terrine of Sweetbreads)

I was incredibly trepidatious about using sweetbreads. As a result, I did not buy enough of them and this recipe turned more into a pork terrine than a sweetbread terrine. However, saying that, actually going through the process of preparing and cooking the sweetbreads was quite interesting. Another ingredient I skimped on was the fresh truffles which I was supposed to stuff into the sweetbreads. The truffles would have cost a fortune and were out of season besides so I opted for truffle salt and seasoned the sweetbread as well as the pork with it hoping to compensate. Bottom line, the end result was not really what the recipe called for and turned out quite bland. It also turned out rather hard but I think that’s just par for the course. It was edible, unlike the pike pate, however I don’t think I’ll be returning to it the next time I’m curious about terrines. Bottom line, if you’re going to try this recipe, make sure you get the truffles and sweetbreads as they are where the flavour of the dish comes from.

image image (1)

Leave a Reply

