Lasagne Verdi Alla Bolognese

photo (2)photo 3image

The last time I made a dish out of this book that called for fresh pasta (Cannelloni Alla Passetto), I copped out and went for store bought pasta. This time however, I decided to make the pasta myself and am I glad I did! Not only was it incredibly rewarding to make my own spinach lasagna noodles, the taste was significantly better. Instead of that slightly rubbery and flimsy texture of store bought pasta, my fresh pasta had an incredibly soft, smooth, and yet hearty consistency. You can see from the photos the glorious marbling that was achieved by the spinach in the noodles. Having pre-made my custom tomato sauce already, my ground beef & pork absorbed that delicious richness of the sauce along with the spectacular Trevini Primo Chardonnay Pinot Grigio (Italian whites really are great). Along with the cream sauce, this dish was a true flavour explosion and probably one of the most successful recipes in the book.

Leave a Reply

