Croque-Monsieur

photo (8)

Having lived in Paris for nine months, I have eaten my fair share of croque-monsieurs. I may not have been able to eat at the Tour D’Argent but I could certainly afford to visit some of the many blue collar bistros scattered throughout the city and, wherever I went, I was sure to order their croque-monsieur and their onion soup. This recipe calls for something that I never came across once while in Paris, Roquefort cheese. Which I’m not complaining about because the addition of blue cheese made this luncheon sandwich a dream come true. Although, as you can see I did a little improvising myself and transformed this monsieur into a madame (with an egg on top). A delicious and simple recipe that brought me back to some of my happiest days.

Leave a Reply

