Walnut Cake with Marzipan

 

I had high expectations for this cake, considering it was praised a “perfect cake.” And so I made it for my girlfriend’s birthday cake. Personally though, I found it overly sweet. And the marzipan ‘crust’ didn’t really lift off the serving plate very well for each serving. In the future I would probably cut all the icing sugar out of the marzipan and put it directly into one of the layers of the cake. But honestly, I probably won’t be returning to this recipe again, it could certainly be tweaked but there are so many great cake recipes in the world that there isn’t much incentive to work on this diamond in the rough.

Leave a Reply

