Gourmandise Brillat-Savarin (Fillet of Veal with Mushrooms)

img_0950

Crepes are a recurring feature of this book. They were probably at the time, and still are to this day, one of the icons of French culinary decadence. I had been eyeing this dish for a while and realizing that I had virtually all the ingredients and a free afternoon, decided to try it. The veal along with its mushroom, shallot and sherry topping was delicious. To be honest, I kind of felt that the crepe really was a third wheel to the party and I had a hard time marrying the two in my mouth. Still, if nothing else, this dish taught me a simple and delicious topping for meats.

Leave a Reply

